One Day You'll Run Out of Tomorrows

What if you only had six months left to live?

Is it me, or does it feel like just yesterday that the month of June was just beginning? Because I remember talking with my roommates and saying, “Guys, I can’t believe it’s already June.”

Right now, as I write this, we’re already getting close to the end of the month. It’s flown by.

And you know what that means? Once the calendar turns to July, it will officially be halfway through the year. Yes, six months have already gone by just like that. We’re already 50% done with 2022 (well, according to this website the number is actually 46.58% but close enough).

It seems like as you get older, the years go by quicker. But the thing is, it’s not just a feeling. It’s a scientific fact.

It’s no secret that kids are impatient, right? They’re always asking things like, “How much longer?” or “Are we there yet?”

Well, there’s a reason for that. They’ve been alive for a shorter period of time than us adults. So to them, an hour car ride is a larger portion of their life than it is to someone who’s been living longer.

The same 60 minutes will feel much longer to a 5-year-old kid than it will for someone who’s 20, 50, or 80.

So maybe there’s a reason June seems to fly by so quickly, along with the rest of 2022. Which brings me to a question we’ve all heard or at least thought about at some point:

What would you do if you had 24 hours left to live?

Generic? Yes. Fun to think about? Also yes. And for some people, the answer may be pretty simple. Many would spend that time with their loved ones. Many would blow all their money on things they’ve always wanted to experience. Many might do a combination of both.

But recently, I’ve been thinking more long term. With June coming to an end in the next few weeks, signaling the half-way mark of the year, I asked myself a question:

What if 2022 was my last year alive? What would I do if I only had six months left to live?

Don’t worry, it’s just a hypothetical question (at least I hope so). But the truth is, you never truly know. Because there’s a lot of uncertainties in life. Life itself is uncertain.

But honestly, what would you do if you only had six months left to live? Obviously that’s a lot longer than the generic 24 hours. It makes you think in a similar way, though.

You’d likely have to be more strategic with your approach. Not blowing all your money right away like you might if you only had 24 hours. Would you quit your job? Would you do all the things you always wanted to do in life? Would you learn to appreciate how precious each moment truly is?

If you were really in a situation like that, there would be a lot of things to consider.

Many times, we don’t pursue our desires in life because we believe there’s always another tomorrow. That we can just put certain things off for another day in the future.

But the reality is, we never know when it will be our last tomorrow. And if we only had six months left on Earth, that deadline would be approaching a lot faster than we’d want it to.

Look, there’s a reason I’ve thought about this question recently. And no, it’s not because I plan on leaving Earth anytime soon.

But for as long as I can remember, I’ve struggled to stay consistent with the things I know I should be doing. Whether it’s scrolling through social media instead of working on a project or turning on Netflix instead of sharing my ideas with the world.

I just never want to do the things I know I should be doing… nobody does.

But would that change if I knew I only had six months left here? Would I do nothing but sit around and feel sorry for myself? Or would I work to turn my dreams into a reality before I leave Earth?

I’d like to think it would be the latter.

But like I mentioned earlier, none of us know when we’ll wake up for the last time. None of us know when we’ll run out of tomorrows.

Now, I don’t mean to give you a feeling of existential dread. All I’m trying to do is shift your perspective and your way of thinking about the next six months, next six weeks, next six days, and even the next six hours of your life.

Because the reality is, six months is more than enough time to change your life for the better.

I’ve spent my entire life saying things like “I’ll do it tomorrow” and “That’s for another day.” But the thing is, if that clock was ticking (and it is) and that deadline was fast approaching, I think I would look at things a lottt differently, as I’m sure most people would.

Live the next six months as if it were your last six months.

One day you’ll run out of tomorrows. So make the most of the rest of your todays.

Never stop dreaming,

Connor

❓This Week’s Question

What are the THREE biggest things you would do if you found out you only had six months left to live?

Feel free to reply to this email with your response. I’d love to hear!

💭 This Week’s Quote

Don’t count your days. Make your days count.

- Muhammad Ali