The Secret to Doing More in Life

Do more by doing less

Recently I’ve been really anxious about time.

And before you say anything, yes, I know it’s a made up construct. I know it’s not actually real. But in our modern society, time operates at the center of everything.

Deadlines, goals, events, the feeling of just never having enough time in the day (we’ve all experienced it).

Probably similar to a lot of people, I feel like I always have to be doing something. Because there’s always something I can be doing to work more towards my goals.

We’re always so go-go-go in life that when we do find ourselves taking a break to do nothing, we feel guilty for it.

Imagine that. When humans are literally wired to do nothing for a large portion of the day, we still feel guilty for taking a 30-minute nap on a Saturday afternoon.

We put so much unneeded pressure and anxiety on ourselves by thinking we always have to be doing something. For our job, for our friends, for ourselves… for society.

But the reality is, time is abundant.

No matter what age you are in life, from a kindergartener all the way to living the retired-lifestyle, you have so much time ahead of you. But you also might not. I know, I know, time is quite literally a paradox (I just like to think that time is infinite).

Either way, I’m sure we can all agree that we would love a few more hours in the day so we can get more done.

Here’s the thing, though. You don’t really need it. Because yesterday I experienced first hand a secret to doing more in life.

You want to hear it?

The secret to doing more in life is doing nothing more often.

Yes, you read that correctly. And here’s why…

Yesterday I was at a coffee shop working on some things I needed to get done. A few hours later, I had accomplished everything I set out to do that day, so I decided why not walk another 10 minutes to the local park. Which is exactly what I did.

I took my backpack and placed it against a big tree. Then just laid there.

No phone, no music, just me and my thoughts.

I was doing what so many others call “nothing.” What so many others would feel guilty doing themselves. Because it’s the complete opposite of the go-go-go of modern society.

But the thing is, just because I was relaxing there under that tree, doing nothing, that doesn’t mean my mind was at rest. Far from it, actually.

Because when you take the time to do nothing, thoughts and ideas will come to you. Thoughts and ideas that you needed for so long but just couldn’t figure out because your mind was anxious and all over the place.

On the outside, I probably looked like a guy doing nothing.

But on the inside, there was a guy who was planning, strategizing, setting goals, coming up with his weekly newsletter content (the one you’re reading now), and so many more “aha!” moments.

That act of “doing nothing” led to a digital creation of something that will be around for years and years to come. It helped create a piece of a legacy I want to leave behind.

And if you ask me, that’s a pretty powerful thing.

In fact, some of the greatest authors, artists, and creative minds in history did “nothing” every single day. Because they knew that “nothing” would lead to something.

So if you want to do more with the time you have, I’d suggest “doing nothing” in a couple different ways.

  • Journal

  • Exercise

  • Meditate

  • Go on a walk

  • Spend time in nature

  • Just go out there and live

Because all of these (yes, all of them) are avenues for inspiration, idea generation, and mind relaxation.

You just may be surprised at what they can do for you.

So the next time you feel like you’re never doing enough in life, out of ideas, or just anxious about the future, give “doing nothing” a try and see where it leads.

Never stop dreaming,

Connor

❓This Week’s Question

What’s your favorite thing to do when you need a break from the go-go-go of life?

Feel free to reply to this email with your response. I’d love to hear!

💭 This Week’s Quote

“In order to write about life, you must first live it.”

- Unknown

📚 This Week’s Resource

Read this article to learn what you can do to feel like you have an abundance of time in your day.